DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 - Introduction
Vivian
Vivian

Posted on • Updated on

OSD600 - Introduction

1. Self-introduction

Hi there, welcome to my blog. I am Vivian - a Vietnamese girl who is currently living in Toronto, Canada. I exposed to computer programming language when I was selected to participate in a Pascal competition in high school. In the past, I never thought that I would become a programmer but right now I am majoring in Computer Programming and Analysis at Seneca College and studying to be a good programmer.

I have a particular liking for web development and recently I started to have interest in learning about mobile app.

2. About OSD course

Open Source Development (OSD600) is a professional course I have chosen in the 5th semester after receiving a good piece of advice from my senior. Additionally, Open Source is totally alien to me so that I want to learn deeply about it.

Another reason that makes me interested in Open Source is its freedom. Programmers can feel free to develop an open source application with new useful features then use or share that application with other programmers. As a result, that application will be more and more developed, become a better version of itself and provide useful functions for users.

After finishing this course, I hope that I will be familiar with git and be more confident to work on huge projects.

3. The GitHub trending repo

The GitHub repo, I have interest in is "30 seconds of code" [https://github.com/30-seconds/30-seconds-of-code]. It is a website which provides short JavaScript code snippets for users. I find it very helpful for me when I work on my project later on.

All in all, thank for spending time reading this post.
Happy coding!

Top comments (0)