DEV Community

Cover image for I Completed Hacktoberfest 2024. Here is What I Loved and Hated
HstSethi
HstSethi

Posted on • Originally published at hstsethi.vercel.app

I Completed Hacktoberfest 2024. Here is What I Loved and Hated

Hacktoberfest 2024 was my first Hacktoberfest. While I joined at the
middle of the event, I managed to complete this challenge before the end
of event.

My 6 pull requests were accepted into Hacktoberfest, including 4 of them
which are in top 5 most starred projects: "Free Programming Books",
"Best Websites A Programmer Should Visit".

What I Hated

I did not hate the fact that t-shirt was removed from reward pool. I
don't even wear t-shirts to be honest. The thing I hated the most was
that the option to get a tree planted was removed from the pool. While I
did plant a tree on my own, but still...


What I Loved

I loved how everyone was enthusiastically contributing to open source.
The maintainers I worked with were very friendly too. Special Thanks to
Eric from Ebooks Foundation for helping me achieve my goal by reviewing
my commits, giving genuine and clear feedback.


Pull Requests I Submitted

Here is the list of all 6 Pull Requests I Submitted.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
hstsethi profile image
HstSethi

Did you participate in it too? How was your experience like? Comment below!