DEV Community

Cover image for Flutter debugging wirelessly!
Visakh Vijayan
Visakh Vijayan

Posted on • Updated on

Flutter debugging wirelessly!

I hate wires. As simple as that. So if you are one among those people who do, follow this.

I use VSCode to debug my flutter apps. And lately, it has become too hectic with more and more wires coming up on the table. So here is what you do -

  1. Install adb platform tools. I have a Ubuntu 20.04 running hence I downloaded them from https://developer.android.com/studio/releases/platform-tools
  2. Add the adb file to your $PATH if you are on linux.
  3. Connect your device using a wire and run adb devices to see if it's detected.
  4. If not restart the adb by running adb kill-server and adb start-server.
  5. Remember to have USB Debugging on in your device.
  6. Run adb tcpip 5555. Your device will ask for permissions to connect.
  7. Once done, remove the USB.
  8. Connect your device to the same network as your machine.
  9. Find the IP address of your phone in the network. You can find it in "About Phone" usually.
  10. run adb connect "phone-ip":5555
  11. Done.

P.S. Throw away that wire.

Happy coding!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
elmachado profile image
Jesús D Machado

I am trying the same, but with android 11 and his new way to connect throughout of the comand "adb pair". The device must be generate a code to connect are sussesfull and thats works, but when I want run the command "flutter run" not detect my device.
do you have any idea of I can makes works the adb wireless whit android 11 and his new way to connect?