DEV Community

Vladislavs
Vladislavs

Posted on

Is Web3 expensive?

Recently I've got an idea to try to make a dApp. I've dived into learning more about how blockchain is working, what smart contract, fees, gas, solidity, remix and etc are. I know now the difference between web2 and web3 and I need community support to help me to understand one thing.. 😀

Web3 apps have no backend as we know it. All the information is stored in contracts. Reading the data from them is free for the end user, but putting information there will cost a fee. This fee can either be paid by the end user, or it can be moved on dev shoulders. So what is not clear for me - how do you know your avg. costs to maintain the application?

Let's assume I am making a dApp where users can store a list of their favourite books. Each editing and insertion would require from them, or from me, to pay the money...

Imagine you would need to pay each time you leave a comment on dev.to

If I decide to pay all fees by myself, how can I know, that I won't bankrupt after one user just messes up with editing the title of the book (in our example)? So in this case it would make sense to use a good old web2 and store the data for free on some Supabase solution. The costs won't be so high and the app will do what it has to.

So the question is, is there a way to avoid this? Was really inspired by the idea of Web3 and now am not sure which projects should use Web3 at all? Only the ones which make crypto currency operations? 😒

How do P2E games are created? Do they really pay for all user actions or are they not dApps?

Thank you very much for your replies!

Top comments (0)