DEV Community

Cover image for What is your favourite dev. related quote?
Juneau Lim
Juneau Lim

Posted on

What is your favourite dev. related quote?

I just saw "Nevertheless, She Coded" on DEV shop, and found this post and #shecoded hashtag.

I am not a quote addict.
However, as a newbie, wonder:
    I wonder what every else's one line in their heart is.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ruvans profile image
Ruth Evans

"The most dangerous phrase in the language is 'we've always done it this way.'" Admiral Grace Hopper

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Nice one. I admire her but haven't heard it before. Thank you for sharing!

Collapse
 
vhoyer profile image
Vinícius Hoyer

"your code is not for the machines, it's for other humans"

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Wow, that's genuine. I also have to remember it all the time.

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. Thêry

I have two from two good friends:

1) "First, make it work. Then, make it pretty".
2) "Programming is a creative art".

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Too true.
The first one makes me a bit guilty. I am really bad at setting and keeping MVP(Minimum viable product).

Collapse
 
marvelouswololo profile image
MarvelousWololo

ship it.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

looooooooooool good heaven, love it.

Collapse
 
gabrielski profile image
Gabriel

"I don't know why it works."

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

OMG, that is way too me.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

😧It almost hurt.