DEV Community

John
John

Posted on

I'm an old IT, trying to learn programming

35 years in IT

Things from my young years:
CPM
Discrete RAM chips and Perforated fingers :@)
Bleeder resistors on a 5Mb HD
(yes...5Mb)
Novell
3Com servers
Thick-net
Token-ring
Intel 8086/8088
Motorola 68000 assembly
I had a #arpa account
And remember when the Internet was all text
Did I mention I'm old??

I've tried "git-hub' but I just 'got-lost' :@))

I am trying to figure out Python please.
Also Raspberry Pi and Arduino.

Thank-you for your time

js

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nigel447 profile image
nigel447

I would consider a plan that involved a couple of years studying software engineering / comp sci. This would be to cover the basics so that you can effectively communicate and work with other devs.
The big US universities all offer free online courses, here is 1
pll.harvard.edu/course/cs50-introd...

Looking at your background I would say a good target for you where there would be plenty of opportunity would be embedded systems and networks, again the big unis have a lot of free resources
ocw.mit.edu/courses/6-829-computer...

You need to get up to speed with the basics and this could take a couple of years if you are working to survive, by basics I would include the basics in
operating systems, version control, testing, cryptography, networking, security and all the associated protocols for these.

From my personal experience I have found it fruitful to chase contracts in embedded medical devices, if you look at a typical EMD there is a lot of tech in there, I found there is a need for simulators used for training med students for example anesthesia patient simulations, their is a need to code the theoretical models of anesthesia and then you can use the model implemented in a responsive display for example that can be wired into a dummy for the students to learn on. This is just an example to show how you can find a profitable niche.

Good luck

Collapse
 
w3hls profile image
John

Nigel..
Thank you ever so much for the information and the reply..!!

Best
js