DEV Community

Christian Bryant
Christian Bryant

Posted on

Automating your workflow with PLOP

Originally posted on Stackyack.tv

This week my focus was on discovering ways I could automate routine tasks and workflows I go through when coding.

In my research I came across a JS library called PLOP. Plop is used by countless of companies like PayPal, Microsoft, Mozilla, Vimeo and more - so I figured I'd give it a quick spin.

I was blown away by how powerful it was. Especially when it comes to automating a lot of the boilerplate code I write daily.

Before I go any further, you may be wondering, is it even worth it to automate?

Should you spend the 30 minutes to an hour setting up an automation for a task that takes you just a minute?

Yes.

Well, really it just boils down to the frequency of that one minute task. If you find yourself doing said task on some sort of cadence, once a day, once a week, once a month even, then you absolutely should automate it.

That time adds up that you could use for something else.

Aside from saving time, automating your workflow minimises the amount of context switching you need to do, which consumes your mental energy – taking away from the primary tasks at hand.

Bottom line is that context switching should be dodged and avoided like jQuery.

So, if you're sold on automation and want to learn how, in this video, I dive into the Plop and show you an example of how you can use it to automate writing a React component.

If you care about saving time, you don't want to miss this one.

Check out the video here: https://youtu.be/OF1PJX1f-Jc

Top comments (0)