DEV Community

Cover image for "I almost died twice..", a conversation with Weedmaps developer Kent Kawahara
Christian Bryant
Christian Bryant

Posted on

"I almost died twice..", a conversation with Weedmaps developer Kent Kawahara

Originally posted on Stackyack.tv

Hello, world! Thanks for tuning into the 15th edition of Stack Yack.

15 weeks strong here folks. When I first started SY, my biggest concern was how the hell am I going to create new content every week?! Surprisingly, it's hasn't been too hard. In fact, I've been a making content 1-2 weeks ahead of schedule now. Anyway, just tooting my own horn here a bit and how stoked I am about SY.

Side note - I'm definitely looking for help on how to grow it across various social channels, so if you are able to help or know someone who can, please reach out to christianlovescode@gmail.com :)

Okay, let's get into it.

This week (or last week rather), I caught up with Kent K - Senior SWE and former colleague of mine at Weedmaps, in Irvine, CA. We dive into what it's like to work at Weedmaps, how it's changed since COVID, pair programming, learning to code, how he almost died twice and his insanely useful app to help prevent that, staying healthy, and much much more.

This is a rather long episode, but lots of good nugs šŸ˜‰ along the way you'll find valuable.

Watch here

As always thanks for tuning in, and I'm super grateful to have you as a Stack Yack supporter.

Enjoy the weekend!
Christian

Top comments (0)