DEV Community

Cover image for How to learn React in 2024 - A Personal Beginner Experience
Weiqing Teh // CG BOSS
Weiqing Teh // CG BOSS

Posted on

How to learn React in 2024 - A Personal Beginner Experience

Learning React in 2023

My first foray into react started during 2021 as I was introduced to Angular first, not the best way to start but it is what it is.

Learning programming can be daunting if you come from a design background. So I hope to share what I learnt.

But I still took up the challenge to try something new and learn new skills.

My goal last year was to learn React, Typescript, Material UI and JSX for a project. Overwhelming 😑 for me as a start. But I saw projects using these frameworks and libraries for React.

On the job front I see a lot of UI Jobs requiring React as a requirement. So its good to learn another tool in your toolbelt.


Good to have at the start:

Its good to have some javascript programming language. this is necessary as React is based of javascript.

Everything in React is based on this so knowledge with how the language works is key to moving thorugh the code bases and seeing examples.

Places to learn Javascript & React

Javascript

  • Scrimba I like Scrimba because they have interactive coding build into the tutorials

  • Freecode Camp Goood tutorials that covers web development in general from HTML, CSS and Javascript also has interactive coding in their tutorials

Paid

React Courses


What is React?

Basically its a framework of codes you use to put up UI elements on a webpage that are reusable. So it helps save times when you break up your webpage into small little bits of code.

Youtube
Fireship Overview

React:

  • Functions
  • made into components

One thing about react is you can have as little React as you want or build a lot with it that is one flexible way to thing about it.

Hope you enjoyed this see you in the next chapter.

Top comments (0)