DEV Community

Wilbur Suero
Wilbur Suero

Posted on

Updating redux-form fields using bindActionCreators

I have a redux-form that contains a dropdown dependent on the selected value of another dropdown.

I have a filter method to slim down the options from the state and fill my dependent dropdown, and it looks great.

I noticed that I had to select a dropdown item from the dependent dropdown to have the value updated in the store.

That's how I found out about redux-form Action Creators. They are the internal actions from redux-form to dispatch them as we need.

My interest was to change that field when filtering the dependent dropdown options. redux-form provides the change method for cases like this.

Setting it up was as simple as:

import { bindActionCreators } from 'redux'
import { Field, change } from 'redux-form'

// other imports ...
const mapDispatchToProps = (dispatch) => ({
  updateField: bindActionCreators((field, data) => {
    change(FORM_NAME, field, data)
  }, dispatch)
})

Then using it:

this.props.updateField('dependent_field_name', newValue)

Something important to note and quoting redux's documentation on bindActionCreators:

The only use case for bindActionCreators is when you want to pass some action creators down to a component that isn't aware of Redux, and you don't want to pass dispatch or the Redux store to it.

Top comments (0)