DEV Community

Cover image for My first hacktoberfest experience
William Teixeira
William Teixeira

Posted on

My first hacktoberfest experience

[Intro Heading]

Hi, my name is William dos Santos Teixeira, i am 22 years old, i live in Brazil and i'm a student of software engineering at IFAM - Instituto Federal do Amazonas.

Background

I really like Python and things related to task automation. I had already developed some personal projects and worked in some volunteer work but my experience with open source projects was very different and interesting.

Progress

At first I was very nervous and I didn't know how to contribute, I didn't think there was much I could do. After a lot of analyzing repositories on Github I found some interesting projects that I could contribute to. First I read the README of these projects and some pull requests to better understand the objective, after I felt safe I tried to solve some issues. I had a little difficulty with git but after a few hours I had a little practice.

Contributions

Contribui com dois projetos muito interessantes, na minha opinião:

1 - Tithiwa
A chatbot for whatsapp with Python and selenium. I applied a lot of what I knew about Python, absorbed a little bit of environment settings in this project. I had a little difficulty expressing myself as it was the first project but the people were really nice to me.
2 - algorithmshacktoberfest2020
A set of widely used algorithms that have been implemented in popular languages. I used a lot of logic here and had the opportunity to apply some concepts that I learned at the university.

Reflections

The community was very welcoming, which helped me a lot to lose my fear of contributing. I shared my point of view with my classmates and some teachers who encourage me to participate in more activities like this. I hope to learn more to be able to contribute to more projects.

Top comments (0)