DEV Community

Cover image for Redis should solve data management... right?
Wj
Wj

Posted on

Redis should solve data management... right?

Recently, DEV.to has partnered with Redis to run a hackathon.

Although I would love to, I needed to focus more on my studies and would definitely have not enough time to learn a new "language" in just a few days.

So,

After the Redis hackathon was over, I started to research what Redis actually is. Turns out, Redis is actually a local memory storage thing! Yeah! The thing I was looking for. It stores data just like a database, but localized. However, unlike other DB's (I think), you are able to store hashes so passwords from your app can be safely stored in a localized PC.

However,

I am wondering if Redis or more popular Mongo DB or MySQL is better. Redis seems a lot more easier to use though. So let me know your thoughts!

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

...

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

sorry, what ARE you talking about?

Thread Thread
 
ghostclonelol2000 profile image
<}:-{~ .A.K.a. DOOM

Image description

"Nothing important"

Thread Thread
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

okay.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

...

Collapse
 
ghostclonelol2000 profile image
<}:-{~ .A.K.a. DOOM

Flow slow as Mongo, Don Juan thong pro. For ya info when he's not practicin' Jim Crow Or actressin' and some nympho bimbo. He's playin' Ray J the old tape

Gazillion ear , mf doom ..

U y j ?

Thread Thread
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

hmm

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

?

Collapse
 
ghostclonelol2000 profile image
<}:-{~ .A.K.a. DOOM

Why python rather than Apache? Heard they were same script.?

Thread Thread
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

I mean, I dunno? I've never used Apache and my storage is full, so like, I'll just stick with Python for now :|