DEV Community

wusher
wusher

Posted on • Originally published at wusher.github.io on

Active Storage Variants Failing Locally

Setup

  • ruby 3.0.4p208
  • puma 5.6.1
  • Rails 7.0.2
  • macos 12.4 m1 #### Issue

I kept getting broken images when generating variants locally. I found the error below in my rails logs.

Error

[__NSCFConstantString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called
[__NSCFConstantString initialize] may have been in progress in another thread when fork() was called

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Fix

I had to add this to my zshrc before I initialize rbenv

export OBJC_DISABLE_INITIALIZE_FORK_SAFETY=YES

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
coderberry profile image
Eric Berry

Thank you!