DEV Community

Yuri Reimers
Yuri Reimers

Posted on

Intro to Software Engineering

I know what we all are thinking, coding is impossible, it doesn't make sense, how can someone like me learn something as difficult as coding. I had the same thoughts that we all have. I recently started learning javascript and I am surprised at how much I have learned. I am no different than anyone else.
As a beginner guide to get more comfortable with coding fundamentals, we should all ask ourselves the basic questions:

  1. How do we declare a variable? We use 3 keywords that lets the program know that these are variables. We then give our variable a name followed by the equal sign.
  2. const name1 =
  3. let name2 =
  4. var name3 =

  5. How do we assign a value to that variable?

  • Our value comes after the equal sign. We can have a number or a string as a value
  1. What is a string?
  • Are words/letters that are between quotation marks

  • "My name"

  • 'your name'

If you put all of these together. You can get a variable with a value. For example:

const variableName = 'Mike'

'Mike' is the value of variableNames. So every time you write the variableNames. The value will return of 'Mike'.

const variableName = 'Mike'
console.log(variableName)

The console should return Mike

If you practice the basic fundamentals of javascript. You will start to get more comfortable with the basics of coding.

Top comments (0)