DEV Community

Cover image for Videos auto-playing on Dev.to
Will G
Will G

Posted on

Videos auto-playing on Dev.to

Curious to see the community's thoughts on auto-playing videos in posts on dev.to. Personally I'm not a fan and would like some way to disable it within dev.to's settings.

I appreciate the videos themselves but sometimes when I'm on Dev it's not the appropriate environment to watch videos.

What do you think?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
andrewpillar profile image
Andrew Pillar

Agree with this, Dev.to as a platform is more geared towards blogging than it is video hosting, and auto-playing videos on a platform such as this is an instant tab closed;didn't read for me, regardless of what the quality of the video may have been.

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G

Sometimes the posts have a transcript underneath and then I'm not as annoyed about the auto-play because the poster made an effort. But to only have a video and nothing else can be very annoying and I see it as low effort.

Collapse
 
thinkverse profile image
Kim Hallberg

Agreed, I strongly dislike auto-playing videos, reminds me too much of ads.

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G

I think so too! My tab close response is almost automatic.