DEV Community

Cover image for It's All About Trusting the Magic of Beginnings
Matheus Albuquerque
Matheus Albuquerque

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at ythecombinator.space

It's All About Trusting the Magic of Beginnings

After almost two years immersed in countless exciting challenges, it's time to move on.

My Journey in a Nutshell

One of the funniest things, when I started working at Beakyn, was realizing that every single piece of code I wrote would run in thousands of computers around America. Up to that moment in my career, I had only worked on small local startups, where the impact of their products had way smaller proportions.

At Beakyn, I had the chance to contribute to a couple of projects that impacted the whole assets inventory management and audience demographic analysis lifecycle of our client, Outfront Media – one of the largest outdoor media companies in America.

It all happened combined with efforts to shape a culture of sharing and openness, and I'm so proud of the achievements we've made!

Our crew

Dope team; always doing some crazy dope stuff in the city that never sleeps! πŸ—½

I also had the opportunity to present some of the cool things I learned while working on our projects in conferences and meetups. This allowed me to grow my presentation skills (I know there is always a wide room for improvement here, tho) and to create a great network of contacts among our community.

A few talks

I had never traveled that much to attend conferences. πŸ›«

On the personal side, I feel that I have grown so much! My remote working routine allowed me not only to travel a lot more through my country – not staying for too long in any city – but to visit new ones. This made me meet tons of great people, get to know wonderful cultures, experience great things and capture all of these moments in photos! By the way, it all showed me photography is a strong candidate to become the hobby I've been constantly looking for πŸ“Έ.

Ah, the sky...

Watching the sunrise by the window in a plane became one of my greatest moments of peace. πŸ™

The Need for a Change

Earlier this year, though, I caught myself on LinkedIn, casually looking for a new job, and this made me think that it was time to move on. You know what they say… when you're feeling attracted by other opportunities, it's a big sign you need a change. I then applied to some companies and met plenty of great people during the interviews, but one of them really had me from hello…

Coming Next

In the coming days, I'll be joining the Front-End division at STRV – a mobile & web application development company that supplies start-ups all over the world with applications developed in such prestigious incubators like Y Combinator, 500 Startups, and others.

I must say that I couldn't be more excited about it, but many things need to happen before I move definitively to the Czech Republic. Meanwhile, I'll be working remotely.

I'm very enthusiastic about what's coming down the line. I really hope to make an impact on the projects, make countless new friends, and bring the best of me to this company and all of its clients and partners.

Furthermore, I also hope to keep pushing great things to production, attend conferences, open-source stuff and help to grow the React.js (and front-end) community.

For those who made it to the end of this post and are somehow part of this journey, thank you so much for everything. I learned more than ever during this time. I really appreciate all kinds of learning and experiences you guys provided to me.

Wish me luck! πŸ€žπŸŽ†

Top comments (0)