DEV Community

dom dom
dom dom

Posted on

Python Emails

Hey y'all! I decided that it's time to get back into programming. I took a pretty long break due to school, soccer, and business, so now that it's all calmed down, I decided that the best way to get back in the code game would be to learn more Python. I already completed a Codecademy course a while ago, so I am really comfortable with the basics. I also made a couple of Django projects in the past and a decent amount of Flask projects (enough to say that I'm comfortable with the language), so I thought: Why not just make a Python app? I decided to make a bunch of Python automation apps regarding my emails because I genuinely hate reading and using emails. I decided that I would make the basic functions like writing emails along with fetching them, but due to SimpleGmail's clear documentation, those two projects weren't that hard. I added my own parameters and stuff to make it more customizable and more fitting for what I need. I then decided to add on to it by incorporating other features like OpenAI and Google Sheets. I created a program that would fetch emails that fit my parameters and then list them in a brand-new Google Sheet that was in the folder that I shared with my service account. I used OpenAI's API to summarize emails because I hate having to read lengthy emails sent from school, and sometimes I just don't have the energy to read a long newsletter. I go very in-depth with the code and my reasoning on the GitHub Readme for the project.

Click Me to Go to Project

Thanks for reading. Please comment any suggestions or critiques you have on the code; I would really appreciate it.

Top comments (0)