DEV Community

Zach
Zach

Posted on

Adventures in Whiteboarding

I finally got my whiteboard and am enjoying the shit out of it.

Alt Text

It's not only saving the earth by reducing the amount of trees that are sacrificed to my brainstorming and problem-solving sharpies (discounting the havoc wreaked by the volume of dry erase markers I'll probably tear through). It's also just a fun tool that I've used both to white-board out toy problems and also to play with code and outside of a code editor.

I used it today to see how much I could build using react, without relying on the docs. That process started with sketching out the interface I wanted to build along with its constituent components.

Then I broke down each component into their separate functions or classes and went as deep as I could to flesh out the basic app with things like state and event handling.

Writing out code like that exposes what you know and what you thought you knew but don't. You can do it in a code editor too of course, but it's cool to flex those thinking muscles in a slightly different medium.

Alt Text

Alt Text

Top comments (0)