DEV Community

Ivy Tyler
Ivy Tyler

Posted on

Nevertheless, Ivy DeWitt Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I began to code because I found the practice of building websites to be an amazing, fascinating experience, and wanted to be part of that process even on a small scale. I still remember my first time cracking open a Squarespace theme and messing around with the HTML & CSS. If only I knew what I was in for at the time.

I continue to code because as the web matures, we need to mature our tools & websites along with it. For various reasons, websites (and the tech landscape in general) have gotten away with a pretty narrow vision and experiences for users. There are countless examples of people not being able to simply sign up for an account due to the fact that a service doesn't recognize their name as a 'legitimate name', or for other reason won't let them use an alias.

This, along with the fact that many websites have been built in the past without considering accessibility means that we're isolating a significant portion of users who navigate through the web every single day. Now that the internet is pretty much a "must-have" tool for everyone, it's even more important that we create amazing, accessible, and inclusive front-end experiences for all users.

I'm excited about...

Learning about accessibility features in website design/development. Also CSS Grid because I thrilled about all things about CSS Layout.

I look up to...

Jen Simmons! Seriously, if you're passionate about CSS and front-end in general I recommend following her and checking out her YouTube channel.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

Be proactive about providing mentorship opportunities. A lot of times there's pressure on us to be "the best of the best" - especially if you're the first woman/non-binary person in a tech role at your company. Providing a mentor that you can bounce ideas off of and have another level of support can be a big relief in these cases.

Top comments (0)