DEV Community

Cover image for I am writing an e-book πŸ“– about Google searching. What would you hope to learn in such an e-book?
Habdul Hazeez
Habdul Hazeez

Posted on • Updated on

I am writing an e-book πŸ“– about Google searching. What would you hope to learn in such an e-book?

Introduction

Hello, Devians (Devians? Cool or not? Time will tell).

As indicated in the title of this post, currently I am writing an e-book about Google searching titled "Professional Google Searching".

It'll contain my 10 years of experience using the Google Search engine. The e-book aims to make it easier for you to use the search engine to easily find the information that you are looking for.

I'll make it available on Gumroad for as low as $5.

This e-book was inspired by the following comment I left on an article about Google searching:

In addition,

You can use | in place of OR. e.g JavaScript | HTML

Google search result for JavaScript and HTML

The ext is also a substitute for filetype

Google search result for JavaScript PDF documents

Limit search to a domain e.g .com, .edu, .org e.t.c

Google search results for performance of web applications

You can go really weird by combining operators and search terms that will perform a pinpoint search.

JavaScript|HTML|CSS filetype:pdf -"framework" site:edu

When I have the time, I'll write a more comprehensive post about Google searching.

The question

As an avid internet user and someone who uses Google Search daily, what would you hope to learn in such an e-book?

Please note, I asked the same question on Twitter on August 15, 2021, as evident in the Twitter embed below.

Update March 8, 2022: You can get the e-book on AppSumo using the button below.

AppSumo badge

Top comments (0)