DEV Community

Zoe ✨
Zoe ✨

Posted on • Updated on

Hi, I'm Zoe!

First contact

The first time I had access to a programming language was on a Commodore VIC-20. How most people got started was by manually copying the sample programs from the manual, which is what I did. Not really understanding what was what, I was struggling to make some intriguing formulas work on the computer. Those were trigonometric equations, not machine instructions.

The computers in the early 80' were much simpler to get started, provided one had access to them. I'm privileged to have been able to code from a very young age. It's amazing how they were teaching indirect memory addressing in the first few chapters in a manual written for the general public.

You can find me on Twitter as @zoeisnowooze

I live in Montreal.

I work for Shopify

I mostly program in Ruby and Python, but anything will do.

I am currently learning more about 6502 assembly and vintage hardware. Hopefully my next programming project will be written in Rust.

Nice to meet you!

Top comments (0)