DEV Community

Zoé Cadé
Zoé Cadé

Posted on

Finally, Zoé Coded in 2022

I took me a long time to become a software engineer. The first time I tried to learn how to code I was a teenager, but the idea it could become my career never occurred to me. For my teen self, it was a men's job.
Over the years, the notion was reinforced by the overwhelming "geek" culture being showcased in the media and pop culture.

I remember this person who told me I couldn't change career because I didn't learn it as a kid, so it was over for me, wasn't it?

Guess I proved him wrong.

Now I regret the years I lost searching for my dream job, but it makes me more aware that the importance of showcasing my work as a software engineer. So the younger generation will know they do belong in this industry.

So in 2022, I pledge to always speak up when others forget to include women in our industry and to relentlessly bore them to death with the importance of inclusivity and diversity.

Top comments (0)