DEV Community

Cover image for An Old Noob - Issue 1, The Cloud Resume Challenge
Zachary Wilson
Zachary Wilson

Posted on • Updated on

An Old Noob - Issue 1, The Cloud Resume Challenge

Pretty sure i'm in the right place, because it feels completely unknown.

First things first... i'm a little rusty on my creative writing. While my purpose here is to document my journey as i complete the various tasks of the Cloud Resume Challenge, thus perhaps not entirely creative writing, this is a bit less formal than the emails and a bit less structured than the scripts i'm used to writing these days.

I've been in IT for a while and i'm finding myself inexplicably drawn to learning more about cloud architecture. So, a bit of research later and i find myself tackling the Cloud Resume Challenge. I've had a hobby site for years but it was mostly unkempt code that i hadn't looked at since first published. But since i had a domain already, the rest should be a piece of cake =]

My first couple days were spent going over the code in my existing pages before undertaking the task of writing a new .css and .html for the resume. This is because i didn't realize how utterly ugly my code was. Sure it rendered the way i expected in the browser, but in a code editor it was nothing short of Lovecraftian. I should also admit here that I didn't write this previous code, it was borrowed and modified to fit my hobbyist needs. (I also feel compelled here to assert that my resume HTML & CSS are my own, as i'm certain one can tell rather quickly).

As it turns out, this was a bit of a blessing. Without realizing it, i had learned enough in my time away from my HTML of old that i could instantly see ways to improve it when i went back and looked. Plus it allowed me to update a few things that were well in need of updating - let's face it, i'm not the same person i was 14 years ago when i registered my domain. In fact, thanks to projects like this one, i'm not the same person i was last week.

So in the interest of keeping these entries bite-sized but quasi-regular, how has the beginning of this project looked so far? It looks familiar, yet foreign. Complex, yet completable. Somewhat frightening, utterly fascinating.

I'm still polishing the resume page but it's very close to releasing to the wild. I've got a couple smaller things i've learned (which I intend to include in a future installment) and certainly a few larger things i've yet to learn.

Here's to the journey!

Image description

Top comments (0)