DEV Community

Cover image for Arch linux with Realtek rtl8821ce kernel freezing when WIFI is connected
Jhohannes
Jhohannes

Posted on

Arch linux with Realtek rtl8821ce kernel freezing when WIFI is connected

If you have recently installed linux and you are facing any freezing problem when connected to the WIFI, chill up buddy. I am here for you.

Do not panic. There is nothing wrong with the distro nor your device. Just the kernel using the default wifi driver it came with.

I would recommend you run a system update first.

sudo pacman -Syyu
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If problem still persists, then follow the next instructions.

How I Solved Mine.

The link above should help.
For garuda linux users, you can visit the add/Remove Software to download the drivers.
Alt Text

  • I went into the /etc/modprobe.d/ folder and created a file blacklist.conf. You might have to root the folder before you can create the file.

  • Inside the file I only wrote:
    Alt Text

  • I then went to /etc/default/grub and added pci=noaer to the kernel parameters.
    Alt Text

  • Open terminal and run

sudo update-grub
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

then

sudo reboot
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Problem solved!!! Screen freezes no more.
I hope it solves yours.

Top comments (0)