DEV Community

Alex Edwards
Alex Edwards

Posted on

Where to go from here?

There are plenty of roadmaps out there if you simply google 'developer roadmap', but I also value the personal details and I'm in need of a bit of a review.

In the last few months of 2019, I quit my job, moved in with my folks to focus on learning Full-stack JS development, fell in love with Front-end, but really enjoy the puzzle-solving aspect to Back-end work. I've even started to enjoy writing tests.

Thanks to Kent C Dodds Testing-Javascript course! Highly recommend it for anyone who's looking to incorporate or learn it's value

I learnt React previous to the introduction to hooks, then I learnt it over again.

Since March 2020 when the lock-down hit the UK hard, there's been about 1% of the jobs going, most are senior / lead roles, and so as someone who's looking for their first 'real' role (I've dabbled here and there with paid work in the past).

So after some advice, to get Job-ready when they start coming back into the market, I've been learning Typescript (I ❤️ it!), Data Structures and Algorithms, GraphQL back-end (Found Nexus from Prisma and it's SO easy to work with!). Built a website in June with Gatsby, TS, and a CMS. Finished another project yesterday.

I'm not sure where else to go from here, should I continue building more projects, even if they're a bit copy-pasta using sites like [Frontend Mentor)(https://www.frontendmentor.io/) for visual queues? I have this bias that projects from courses are viewed a bit this way too - everyone producing the same project with minor differences.

I've learnt React, but is there value in learning Vue too? Vue3 is around the corner though not ready, I'm seeing it as a frequent feature in jobs advertised.

As Full-stack too, would I be wrong to invest in learning Python? Also tempted by IOS.

I'm constantly wanting to improve and thrive to do better, but as someone who values their time, I'm not wanting to go down the wrong direction or waste time, especially when the end goal is to get their first placement in a team and contribute to something more than just personal exhibition.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
johnsalzarulo profile image
John Jacob

Hey Alex — sounds like you've worked hard and come a long way. Congrats.

At this point I would for sure prioritize "real" projects over more tutorials or just learning projects. Possible recommendation: get a profile spun up on Upwork at a low(ish) rate ($15-$25/hr) and start actually seeing production code and projects through.

Another possible recommendation is to try to work with nonprofits or social justice movements to see if you can lend your talents and learnings to further a cause. This way your code is hitting real users and servers. I'd shift your mindset now, away from learning, into "doing" as much as you can.

Lastly — you may want to look into something like Amplify or Firebase to ship something more "Fullstack(ish)"