DEV Community

Cover image for 1 Tip I Would Give to Every Junior Developer Who Wants To Land A Role At A Big Tech Company
Ndeye Fatou Diop
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Posted on

1 Tip I Would Give to Every Junior Developer Who Wants To Land A Role At A Big Tech Company

Do you want to work as a junior frontend developer in a big tech company?

I've been a software engineer for over 5 years, specializing in frontend engineering for the past 3 years. From my experience, landing this role requires:

Passing complex coding interviews,

Demonstrating a knack for problem-solving and

Showing your ability to learn quickly

So, here's the 1 tip I would give you if you wanted to pursue a similar career path:

Cultivate unwavering confidence in yourself and your ability to succeed.

If you don't believe in yourself, you'll have a hard time landing a great job for 3 reasons:

  • Reason #1: You'll struggle to convince your interviewer that you're the right person for the job. In fact, if you keep second-guessing, it signals you might struggle with real-world challenges, wasting time undoing and redoing decisions.

  • Reason #2: You're more likely to quit when faced with setbacks. There was a time when I thought I could never be a developer. Because of that, every problem seemed insurmountable. Shifting to believing in myself cleared doubts, allowing me to focus on gaining the right skills.

  • Reason #3: Settling becomes tempting. When you don't believe in yourself, you might accept less than you're worth. Remember, at big companies, you can generally negotiate. Undervalue yourself, and you'll likely lowball.


Thank you for reading this post 🙏.

Leave a comment 📩 to share more tips.

And Don't forget to Drop a "💖🦄🔥".

If you like articles like this, join my FREE newsletter, FrontendJoy, or find me on X/Twitter.

Top comments (0)