DEV Community

Abderraouf-Rahmani
Abderraouf-Rahmani

Posted on

It's Not You, It's The Stupid Machine()

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this amazing DEV community platform, and I want to go through what i have learned from learning how to code and dig a bit deeper into what mindset you want to have when you start learning.
PS: English is not my native language, I'll do my best to make everything as clear as possible :)

Learning how to code is very interesting, especially when you start looking at algorithms, it feels very heavy on your brain, I've spent hours on the toilet seat trying to figure out why my fancy function() is not doing its job, and when i found the issue it was the biggest DUH! I've ever experienced in my life but only then your learning curve starts to move a little bit exponentially, and IT CLICKED, I came to realize that I need to think like a five years old, you know..., trying to explain to your machine every small detail about what you want it to do.

I was lucky enough to figure that out earlier in my learning phase, which helped me a lot to accelerate through it, i was able to finish the first two courses of the FCC curriculum (Responsive Web Design and JS algos && Data structure) in five weeks, spending 3 to 4 hours a day, shout-out to FreeCodeCamp for their awesome and well written courses.

So, to conclude, when you start learning how to code, please keep in mind that the hundreds of mistakes you are making is normal and expected, treat your machine as a five years old, and keep moving forward, Happy coding ;)

Top comments (0)