DEV Community

Cover image for LFX mentorship @ Vitess
Abhay Katheria
Abhay Katheria

Posted on

LFX mentorship @ Vitess

This summer I was fortunate enough to be selected as linux foundation mentee for Vitess which is a CNCF graduated project.
According to vitess.io

Vitess is a database clustering system for horizontal scaling of MySQL through generalized sharding.

Sharding is the concept of breaking up data into smaller chunks distributed across separate database nodes.

My aim for the summer was to develop an exhaustive test suite for Vitess's compatibility with Django's model layer.

During this period, I was mentored by a team of engineers from Planetscale who are currently maintaining Vitess. I was part of daily stand-up meetings and was in constant touch with my mentors, who guided me through the whole project. Also I got a chance to be part of community-day for Vitess in which contributors and maintainers from all around the world interacted.

Sadly, due to an unfortunate event I was unable to work for weeks. But my mentors and the admins at CNCF were kind enough to understand my situation and granted me an extension for the program. And with the help of my mentors i was able to complete the project within the extended deadline.

I learnt a lot during this mentorship program and will continue to contribute more to the project in future.

Top comments (0)