DEV Community

Abisola Oyetunji
Abisola Oyetunji

Posted on

My AWS Cloud Practitioner Exam Experience.

So I failed when I took the first AWS Cloud Practitioner exam in December 2021. Yes, I blew it!
Immediately you hit the submit button, the exam result pops up on your screen.
Oh, I felt so sad!
It was a time to pause and think. Indeed, my preparation was not sufficient, so what did I expect?

Let me share a quick story.
I was undergoing my first internship in tech, a colleague shared with me the Aws cloud practitioner training with a free Voucher link.
Then, I had little experience in customer service, networking, and IT support. I wasn't sure but I knew I wanted to learn an IT skill.

I didn’t start the course till it was three weeks before the exam I had scheduled.
I started with the AWS training and certification course content, and it was quite interesting with a quiz after each module. The modules come with explanations for each quiz, so you get to view the answers and explanations.

For me, the module was quite easy to comprehend, but for the exam, you need a lot of practice, especially if you are just switching into tech, with no prior tech background.
So back to when I did my exam and I failed, my result breakdown was sent to my mail, showing my score of about 600+ and with feedback on areas I did well and also areas to improve on.

So basically the modules talked about topics like Global infrastructure, EC2 instances, Networks and Security, Billing, Identity Management, and a lot more.
You might need to signup for this free training course and also research more materials online.

For the second attempt, I ensure I had a study road map and prepared two months before the exam, studying for at least an average of two hours on the course content.
I watched tutorials on youtube to understand some topics better, and I also practiced questions a lot, I got a link to practice questions from another colleague, which aided my confidence to retake the exam.

I registered again and I did my exam at home, on exam day, the proctor checked the usuals such as the exam space I was using, including my valid Id, and after all the protocol was observed, I started the exam.
I read each question carefully while also being conscious of my time. This time I was confident as opposed to being tensed in my previous exam, I had multiple choice questions and multiple answer questions.

After about 45 minutes, I was done.
I clicked submit and in less than a minute, my result was out!
I passed!!!
For anyone looking to take the Aws Cloud practitioner exam, just take your time to understand the basic concepts, revise and practice well.
I wouldn't be able to drop links to resources I used because they were random links, but it's advisable to start with course content on AWS website.
Here is a link to AWS free training:http://bit.ly/44LJ5WR

Thank you for reading.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ojotemitopseun profile image
ojo temitope seun

Nice step! Keep influcing your community positively

Collapse
 
abisolaoye profile image
Abisola Oyetunji

Thank you!

Collapse
 
robsongrangeiro profile image
Robson Grangeiro

We are proud of you, never discredit you! Congratulations!

Collapse
 
abisolaoye profile image
Abisola Oyetunji

Thank you!!!

Collapse
 
maro_ekure profile image
Maro Ekure

Congrats and Keep growing.

Collapse
 
abisolaoye profile image
Abisola Oyetunji

Thanks Maro!

Collapse
 
alexorkuma profile image
Info Comment hidden by post author - thread only accessible via permalink
alex-orkuma

Wow, it's not actually bad.
Congrats by the way.

Collapse
 
abisolaoye profile image
Abisola Oyetunji

Thank you!

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more