DEV Community

Cover image for Lexicon 💬 A ChatGPT Language Learning App with Adventures, Speech and Feedback!
Anu
Anu

Posted on

Lexicon 💬 A ChatGPT Language Learning App with Adventures, Speech and Feedback!

Hey there! I'm a solo developer (23, just graduated university), and I'm thrilled to share my latest project with you (my first try at software development!). In my spare time outside work, I've built a language learning app called Lexicon that takes a unique approach to language acquisition. The idea came from loving language learning but not having enough time to practice my speaking and finding tutors too expensive to use regularly.

The Idea

I wanted to create an immersive language learning experience that goes beyond just vocabulary and grammar. My app lets users practice speech, improve listening skills, and engage in realistic conversations with realistic characters, all while receiving live model feedback and tracking their progress.

The twist: AI-Driven Adventures

But here's the twist: I've also integrated "adventures" into the app. Imagine stepping into plot-driven scenarios where the AI acts as a dungeon master in D&D, guiding users through language-rich quests that make learning fun and engaging: from roaming the Wild West, the depths of the Marianas Trench or Renaissance Italy.

If you're interested, you can check out the app (Android & iOS). I'd be super grateful to hear your thoughts on the idea, the UI, marketing tips or anything else, as I'm totally new to business, software development and marketing.

Thank you so much!

Looking forward to your feedback and suggestions. Thanks so much for taking the time to check it out!

Top comments (0)