DEV Community

Cover image for Why I don't use JavaScript frameworks(And what I use)
acode123
acode123

Posted on

Why I don't use JavaScript frameworks(And what I use)

So I am not sure if you heard of Vue before, but all JavaScript frameworks are similar. Basically, almost all files you make in Vue ends with .vue, which I don't really like.

I believe standard HTML, JavaScript and so on is better in my liking. But your framework might have files ending with standard extensions, but even in the case of NextJS, which is another popular framework, HTML is written in JavaScript functions.

Here is an example of a JavaScript file in NextJS:

export default function anything{
   return <h1>hi</h1>
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

To me, that's manipulating JavaScript, and I like the original JavaScript more. This is more of a personal matter. Using JavaScript frameworks isn't wrong, it's just not something I like.

Then you may ask, If I don't use JavaScript frameworks, how do I make a website? You might think I am the sort of person that won't install anything, and use notepad or something to write code, but you're mistaken.

First, I don't use notepad to write my code, I prefer Visual Stdio Code.

Secondly, I use JavaScript Libraries.

You might be wondering, didn't I just say I liked original JavaScript? But the key difference her is with Libraries, the programmer(me/you) is the one in charge.

So basically, I kind of make my own framework by combining Libraries. A few for CSS, another few for the backend, then some for routing, but at the end, I'm in charge.


I hoped you enjoy this post! Stick around for next time!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
acode123 profile image
acode123 • Edited

Tell me some JavaScript frameworks you use!