DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

Between Silicon and Soil 🌻

Sometimes interests hit me in a big way, but programming was different, I wanted to be the best, catchem all so to speak, I trained hard and learned a lot of frontend knowledge by heart, nobody told me I didn't actually have to do that, so I remembered as much as I could.

It's been a long time since then, I now find myself asking a big question I never expected, is there more to life than programming?

Thanks to my career (and the pandemic) we have 👨‍👩‍👦 been able to move from a rented apartment/flat in a not so nice area to a beautiful Victorian house in the sticks.

We got fast internet and the rest is history, I then saw the garden, now as a lazy kind of guy I never really cared about the gardens, it always got a bit overgrown but I had agreed to moving here on the condition I would mow the lawn once in a while, thanks to fast internet and Google lens I become an expert at identify plants, my girlfriend (might as well be wife) well she started planting, I started planting too, we tore up the weed proof membrane and got to work, it's 6 months later and we have learned the terms of the trade, how to care for our chosen plants and a bit of garden design, now I'm wondering if somehow I could just start a flower farm and say goodbye to programming one day? I guess that's a retirement plan but it would have been nice to do this on this side of 50.

Anyone love gardening, what do you care about, what is your favourite plant?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Appears to be a bot

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

I would definitely be a paramedic if they got paid worth anything in the United States, but I am looking forward to buying some shitbox project cars as an adventure!

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

That's an awesome idea, saving people, very rewarding as well, maybe you could / have training and a part time job?
The car I can understand, i have had a project classic rove mini, MK2 golf etc, cars are so expensive though, money pits

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

I actually dropped out of university to become an Emergency Medical Technician. I didn't understand how to cope with a lot of the mental challenges, but I feel like I would find it a lot more fulfilling now. Unfortunately, I made some poor life decisions in my mid-20s and was incarcerated, so I am not sure if I would be allowed to volunteer anymore.

I had a Subaru WRX for a while and it was the coolest money pit I have ever purchased haha. Next one will probably be a Miata or S2000.

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

You should see my Skoda VRS mrk3 in black, absolute sleeper with a 2.0 TDI Audi block.

Not quite a WRX or s2000 though, fantastic choices!

Collapse
 
aheisleycook profile image
privatecloudev

i actually do communiy web development which different ball game becasue you cant make eveey decision

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

I also did something like this this many years ago for a local city council, I did make some money from it too - I hope your enjoying you community web development and you grow from it

Collapse
 
aheisleycook profile image
privatecloudev

Cool