DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on

.gltf and regl πŸŽ₯

It's been a while, hi everyone, I wanted to share 2 things with you.

3 times now I have attempted to get into webgl through the glsl route. It's hard. If you want something slightly more high level I highly recommend regl, it's functional for a start which makes it wonderfully compostable composeable, anything in regl should be treated like a component just like react, you have reusable components to define the GL state machine, and you also get props and some reactivity. I am finding gl fun now.

Onto my other descovery, the file format which is being pushed by most people in the GL world. GLTF, what is that? It's flipping JSON! Yes that's right a JSON file format that contains animations, materials, geometry and more! Blender 2.8 ships with the importer exporter and webgl understands this format. I suggest getting some sort of loader for your chosen setup and play around, apparently gltf supports PBR Physically based rendering materials, in other words photo realistic.

So that is my first post in weeks, how did I do? Did you learn anything useful?

Top comments (0)