DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

I don't enjoy gamified training.

Please stop buying corporate training programmes pretending to be indy games. Education should be too the point and without noise.

It's a rant and I'll stop there before I get really into this one.

Dyslexia and gamified education do not mix in my experience.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

What would be the ideal corporate training format for you?

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Wow, the human answer would be, I don't learn unless I make mistakes, lots of mistakes, so training programmes are lost on me.
Anything with a time limit, requires me to read or sit down for hours won't work particularly well for me.

How do I learn is a better question. I learn through quick too the point youtube videos.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I learn SO MUCH from my mistakes too. I am trying to do better with writing down what mistakes I made and how to fix them.

I also like short videos. I get very tired with walls of texts, but a short video where someone else explains a concept and walk through it is so much better for me. I find it easier to take looks that way too.

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

There is this concept of attention, netflix for example counts games like fortnite as competition because they know the audience has only so much attention to go around. My attention is currency in a sense that the shorter time to learn is going to be the video I choose. Free learning still has a cost of you see my meaning.