DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

Looking Shiney

Does it get on your nerves when people around you are trying so hard to look shiney. It probably works too, I never get promoted. :(

But it makes me sad to see people doing "the right thing" out of context, answering questions directed at other people and "helping" when it takes a little tact to know when you can or should help somebody.

Or maybe I'm jealous and should try harder, get on the band waggon and be more annoying they everyone else?

Id rather stay genuine and be me and never be promoted I think.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
deepakbaid profile image
deepakbaid97 • Edited

When I was in 6th grade, there was a spot quiz in my school where if you know the answer you have to raise your hand and you'll be passed the mic to say the answer. There were hundreds of students participating. On the 2nd the last question, which was a pretty easy one, almost everyone raised their hand to answer. The one on left was given a mic to say the answer but he said it wrong. Then I again asked for it but they skipped me and move to my right. I snatched the mic from the guy on my right and said the answer and they gave me a prize for that answer.

So for the next few years, I kept thinking that I had cheated on that quiz. Although, I never felt guilty about it. But one thing I never understood: The quizmaster, the principal, other teachers, and everyone else saw what I did and nobody said anything. Even the guy who I snatched the mic from did not say anything but why?

Later I understood, Opportunities are very rare and not everyone is given one. One has to, work for it, fight for it...or steal it or whatever. If you're given an opportunity, you're very very lucky. And now if you act late on it, someone else is gonna steal it from you, because there are other people in the line waiting for the same. And all of it completely fair.

While that guy on the left smiled and took a breath before saying the answer, I stole it away!