DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

Overbitty, too modular?!

I have adopted an entire React UI project at work all for me to get grips with before I hand that knowledge on to the team 🤯, I have been here a month now too, not bad if I do say so myself. I have realized that this should be (and probably is) the project of my dreams, it's very well put together. It's also very bitty, components are similar to atomic design principles.

I am not complaining at all, this is what I have longed for, for years, pitty the team who made it have long since dispanded to pastures new.

I feel like if I change anything I will be haunted by the ghosts of said team somehow. Truth is, I have to own it, understand it, compromise with it like my child. When I see some imperfection, I must remind myself, it's probably there because there is a jolly good reason. I cannot attempt to replace something I don't like it's not that easy.

So yeah, I am currently tracing path after path of component and prop after prop of functions and data, this isn't actually a mark of poor architecture, it's a mark of scale, the project is big. I almost wish it was all a bit flatter with more comments at file headers but at the same time I know I would eat my words and hate that, why do I always want the opposite of what I have.

Do you believe there is a perfect level of modularity?

Top comments (0)