DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on • Updated on

Perfect syntax

What does your dream language look like? does it take parts from others? Maybe show us a snippet of your pseudo code down in the comments. Either way I will try to recommend some languages to try. ⌨️ 📊

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander • Edited

Definitely lisp. I don't know of any other language where you can name a function -.-u and invoke it with (-.-u).

(define (-.-u) (+ 2 2))

(-.-u)
Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

It's definitely unique, what else is good about lisp?

Collapse
 
fixeddev profile image
Gilberto Garcia

Yeah, I would like something like Java + C++ Templates + C++ Namespaces instead of packages with a safer typesystem

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀 • Edited

I couldn't agree more.

Since I'm making recommendations for languages, it sounds like you want C++ to be in your life more than Java, maybe you should break-up for a while.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀 • Edited

All I know about Kaitlin is that it looks like typescript for JVM I have been meaning to give it a try! Maybe Elm lang is for you?

 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

So what can I make with kotlin?