DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

The cognitive complexity of learning.

I started writing a project in rust, and while I absolutely loved the experience of developing in rust due to the outstanding and strict comiper, it is very hard to write bad (do please try them out). But it's also really hard to learn and solve a problem of creating a programming language (what I'm doing) in my eyes, it's a bit to much.

I share a similar respect for Typescript for its ability to help you write maintainable code. However there is something to be said for writing prototypes in less strict bounds. Its not to say that the aforementioned languages are bad and I'm sure when I get the prototype nailed I will rewrite 2.0 in a stricter language, in my case cognitive complexity is what's been getting in my way, so I say to you, write version 1 in something a little easier first.

I switched to zig lang, and my god is it easy to work with Wasm and has the same sort of goals as rust. Its a happy middle ground that I am starting to explore. I'm sure there will be pitfalls but so far so good.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
georgecoldham profile image
George

The issue I always have with a "quick and dirty" approach with the aim of refining it later, is that you are never given time to refine it later.

Im glad you are finding a language you feel offers the ease of development along with good maintainability!

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

Fortunately this is my own stuff so iv got time, maybe 50 to 60 years 🤣

Collapse
 
georgecoldham profile image
George

iv got time, maybe 50 to 60 years

Is that till retirement or death? I'm not sure I will be allowed to do either!

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

I don't plan to retire, I couldn't imagine not solving problems. 😭