DEV Community

Adam McKerlie
Adam McKerlie

Posted on

What's the worst piece of advice you've ever received?

I've had a few throughout my career:

You should really focus on C, don't bother learning Python.

Focus on whatever makes you happy. You'll be way more likely to succeed.

Slow down

There are definitely times where it makes sense to slow down, especially if you're burning out. But momentum can be extremely useful throughout your career.

You shouldn't try to go to university, you don't have the attention span for it

This was my grade 11 music teacher. If I had listened I wouldn't have gone into Computer Science. Don't listen to people who try to limit what you can accomplish.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
helleworld_ profile image
DesirΓ© πŸ‘©β€πŸŽ“πŸ‘©β€πŸ«

Woah, well. I've heard too many sadly. But there were 2 that crashed me:

You should focus and specialize in only one thing, stop investing your time in other areas.

I think we, humans, are able not only to focus and have as many different hobbies as we'd like to, but to do many things really good. The wrong belief of "you'll be good only on one thing" I just can't stand it.

If you don't have a title you won't get a job

Well, watch me. 4 years, still no title, still working in the area I love. Still having many opportunities, and willing to get a title soon to reach even further.