DEV Community

Cover image for Do you write your email in clear on your website?
Adrian Sandu
Adrian Sandu

Posted on

Do you write your email in clear on your website?

When you want to provide a contact email address, how do you do it? Do you put it in plain text? Maybe even with a mailto: link as well? Do you obfuscate it in any way?

There was a time when people would use something like me [at] mydomain [dot] com and ask anyone wishing to contact them to replace the proper parts and remove the spaces. Other people would place an image of their email.

However, OCR and pattern recognition is a lot better nowadays. Is it even worth trying to obfuscate your email?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
invot profile image
invot

I usually don't show my email address. I provide a contact form with a honeypot and/or a No CAPTCHA reCAPTCHA. This also allows me to collect better information. I can pair their submission to analytics data and know what they saw that motivated them to contact me. I'll give someone my email on a business card, but never online.

Collapse
 
sebastianstamm profile image
Sebastian Stamm

I don't try to manually hide my Email-Address, but I use Cloudflare which does some automatic email obfuscation. Got no complaints so far.