DEV Community

Cover image for AI Hackathon: Sentiment Analysis with Python Flask and Transformer
Afshan Naqvi
Afshan Naqvi

Posted on

AI Hackathon: Sentiment Analysis with Python Flask and Transformer

Hey there, fellow AI/ML enthusiasts!

I hope you're having a blast out there in the world of tech!

In case you don't know me, I'm Afshan, your programming buddy.I recently became a part of the AWS Community Builder program, and we just had our first AI hackathon. This blog is all about that hackathon.

Getting Started in AI:

To be honest, AI is quite new to me,so participating in this hackathon was a great starting point for me to learn through hands-on practice.

Hackathon Overview:

The AI hackathon welcomed individuals of all skill levels, from beginners to experts. It was a diverse and inclusive event that fostered collaboration and learning. I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this inclusive environment where knowledge-sharing and growth were encouraged.

Project Focus: Sentiment Analysis with Transformer Framework

Sentiment_UI

For the hackathon, my project focused on sentiment analysis, and it was a requirement to use the transformer framework. Leveraging this powerful framework, I built a sentiment analysis program that can analyze text and determine the sentiment conveyed—whether it's positive, negative, or neutral.

Positive Result

Motivation: AWS Comprehend Service:

One of the significant motivations behind my project was the AWS Comprehend service. With AWS Comprehend, you can gain valuable insights by understanding customer sentiment, extracting key information, and analyzing documents on a large scale. It empowers you to decode the true meaning behind vast amounts of text, helping you uncover hidden patterns, trends, and actionable intelligence.

Negative Emotion

Challenges Faced: UI Designing:

While working on the project, I encountered several challenges in UI designing, as it's not my field of expertise. However, I gave it my best shot to ensure proper margin and padding.

Implications: Sharing the Tool with College Students:

This project is open to college students, who can make use of it in their graduation presentations. It provides an excellent opportunity for college students to incorporate this project into their academic work and showcase its functionality. Additionally, students have the freedom to enhance and customize the program according to their specific needs and requirements.

students

Key Learning:

I have learnt a lot about Generative AI and the transformer framework. Additionally, I had the opportunity to connect with brilliant minds in our industry during the hackathon. Interestingly, this event also made me realize the significance of improving my front-end skills... but let's just say I was only joking!😄

Github Project link: https://github.com/Afs514/AI_hackathon/

Top comments (0)