DEV Community

Cover image for Software Engineering Job with $10
ibrahim
ibrahim

Posted on

Software Engineering Job with $10

Original post is here, appreciate it if you give a like.

Hey guys, I am going to share my story on how I became a software engineer by just spending $10 USD (NO college degree). 2 years ago I was still in a college doing diploma in electrical and electronics engineering, on my 5th semester I was introduced with one programming subject which changed my life. This is the class where I learn how to code and also where I learn my first programming language (my first programming language was C). I was so passionated about programming since I went to that class.

After my 5th semester, there was no more programming classes for my course. I was so disappointed about it. So when I was on my semester break, I had a lot free time, on that free time I started looking for programming course online. This is where I came through few websites that offer a programming course. Udemy was one of the website, I was so attracted with the course that was offered in Udemy. Without thinking much, I asked my father for his credit card and purchase one of the programming course which just costed $10 USD. It took me around 1 month to finish the course. When I finished my diploma I started looking for a job as a web developer and I manage to secure a job which played a big role in my software engineering career. After I secured a good job I decided not to pursue a bachelor degree anymore. Now I have been a professional software engineer for almost 2 years working with great companies and the most important thing is I am doing the job that I like the most.

Do checkout my GitHub and my LinkedIn.

Cover Image Photo by Émile Perron on Unsplash

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kiritchoukc profile image
KiritchoukC

Hey Ibrahim,

nice story, nearly identical to mine.

I've learned programming during the day and worked in a factory during the night.
One day I subscribed to a paid course platform and got a certification the first month(which was free !).
Afterwards I got a job that leads to today being employed for 2 years as a Web Developper.

So yeah, I know the feeling :D

Collapse
 
aibrahim3546 profile image
ibrahim

Awesome mate. *High Five