DEV Community

AidanLincoln
AidanLincoln

Posted on

How Can I Learn a New Programming Language Efficiently?

I’ve been watching Python tutorials on youtube for the past week. While I do feel like I’m learning syntax, I find myself skipping through parts of videos to avoid re-learning the fundamentals of coding. If anyone has tips or resources for learning a new language, I'd love to hear them.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
pgronkievitz profile image
Patryk Gronkiewicz

If you know syntax - start writing some projects and then search for everything you don't know. In my opinion that's the most effective way of learning new things (not only programming languages). You may feel stuck and like you're not as productive as you should, but being effective is way more important.

Collapse
 
aidanlincoln profile image
AidanLincoln

Thanks for the suggestion, starting a project seems like a great idea. Struggling through it will show me what i need to research.

Collapse
 
vjkr profile image
Vijaykumar

automatetheboringstuff.com/
Above link helped me learn my first scripting language Python. I started with file I/O, image processing and pyautogui. I agree syntax learning is boring. I always carry a syntax cheat sheet.

I totally agree with Patryk . Doing some projects increases interest in the language. Good luck. Keep us appraised