DEV Community

Ajah Chukwuemeka
Ajah Chukwuemeka

Posted on

How do you keep up with your programming goals?

I've been programming for a while now and I've always had this yearning to grow even more as a software developer. I always set goals but I don't seem to follow through. Maybe because I am a student studying something in school that isn't really close to Computer science or it's just me.

I would love to hear from seniors, experienced and even inexperienced comrades on how they keep up with their learning goals.

Thanks for your most anticipated response.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jvarness profile image
Jake Varness

A lot of the same things that I said in this post I would probably say to you as well. Start out with small things so that time doesn't become a hindrance for your ability to keep up with your goals.

I think what I always run into is that I want to jump straight into something without fully understanding what it is I'm getting myself into. Trying to create an iOS app without much prior knowledge of Objective-C or Swift is one example. Attempting to create a website without ever writing a single line of HTML or JavaScript is another example.

I sometimes try too hard to just jump right in and I don't take the time that I really need to fully understand what it is that I'm doing, or what kinds of features the languages have, or what kinds of tools I can use to make my life easier. What I've found is that starting out with just the simple "how do I run this on my machine" and going from there is helpful.

Collapse
 
ajahso4 profile image
Ajah Chukwuemeka

Thanks for the answer. I have read the post and I feel pumped up to start walking by that path.