DEV Community

AjeaS
AjeaS

Posted on

Coding Snippets Dev Log (9/27/23)

It's been a while since I've posted anything. But I've come back with a new project that has me excited about web dev again. This isn't my usual tutorial like my previous posts, but more of a documentation.

The Project

The project is a Code snippet web app. Users can add, delete, and favorite the code snippets they use the most, with a recommendation section based on their previous snippets. I've built something similar in iOS (minus the recommendation part). However, I thought it would be more efficient as a web app. Most of my coding/component searching happens on the computer instead of the phone.

Since I am more of a web dev than a designer, my design inspirations will come from Figma. I want to take more of a professional approach (as much as possible, considering it is just me) with this project.

These are the features I plan for the app to have and the resources I'll use to help throughout the process.

Features

  • Add snippet (copy reusable snippet)
  • Delete snippet
  • *Edit snippet?
  • Categories snippets by folders
  • Search list of snippets
  • Filter by tags
  • Accounts( google sign in)
  • Recommendations based on current snippets
  • Favorite snippets
  • *Drag and drop snippets to a folder?

Tech stack Idea

Nextjs, MongoDB, Node/Express, TensorFlow.js for ML or Python?

Using -> this guide to help structure a project in a better way

UI Concept

Of course there will be more pages down the line, this is just a rough draft.
Code Snippet wireframe

Overall, it's going to be a fun but challenging project. So let the games begin!

P.S. I was watching Saw while writing this 😅, Happy Halloween!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
marco_43 profile image
Marco

looks nice! Currently I save my snippets in Notion, so it could be a nice app to store snippets. You can think of collaborating with others (for example in a company) and a selfhosted variant of course

Collapse
 
ajeasmith profile image
AjeaS

Thanks! and yea I was thinking about ways I could make it social 👏🏽🙏🏽 I plan to implement that in the future.