DEV Community

Aks
Aks

Posted on

Nevertheless, Akanksha Sharma Coded

I began to code because...

I am not a computer science graduate, I am(was?) an electrical engineer, heck I did not even own a computer until I got in second year of college (small town in middle of nowhere in 90's). Frankly, I started to code to pay my bills.
My plan was to continue my computer gig until I get a job in my field.

But after I saw the beauty of coding field, I felt I found my calling. Everyday is a new challenge. You experience joy of building new things everyday.
I am very fortunate that I got a job as developer in start of my career so that I would know this is where I was meant to be.

I continue to code because

Despite receiving half pay than my male counterparts, despite being ridiculed by client because women cannot be good enough developers, I love coding . In the words of my mentor, just focus on skills, success will come eventually.

I'm an expert at...

Front end Technologies. My first job was as a junior developer to solve bugs for a web application. Wanting to learn more about software development I joined a startup where I worked on several applications from scratch as single person team.
Currently I am at a great company with great mentors who always encourage me to strive for excellence. In last 3+ years I have worked on all major front end technologies React.js, Angular, Vue.js, Cycle,js.
I am currently dabbing in node.js.

I recently overcame...

The fear of writing online. I published two technical blogs till now and received amazing response from online community.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

No matter what happens do not give up. Sounds a little bit cliche.
But seriously you got less pay, are being discriminated on basis of gender,
don't ever stop learning, honing your skills. In the words of Douglas Malloch:

`If you can't be a highway then just be a trail,`
`If you can't be the sun be a star`
`It isn't by size that you win or you fail,`
`Be the best of whatever you are!`
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mxl profile image
Maria Boldyreva

Your story is really inspiring!

Collapse
 
jpelaa profile image
JP

Thanks for the positive words