DEV Community

Albert Zeyer
Albert Zeyer

Posted on

Is dev.to good for asking dev questions?

When I browse dev.to, most posts are just articles. I rarely see that questions are being asked here.

If dev.to is not good for asking questions, what is a good place to ask questions?

Of course there is StackOverflow. But that is only good for questions which have simple, clear, non-opinionated answers. I use StackOverflow quite extensively and it is great for questions which are "allowed". However, I often also have questions about recommendations and opinions, which are strictly not allowed there. But where can I ask such questions?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

DEV is a good place to ask these questions - just make sure to use the #discuss tag so that it is clear that you're looking for a conversation and not just to share information.

Sometimes the #help tag may be a better fit - but the tag mods should be able to direct you between the two if your question would be a better fit for one or the other šŸ˜Š

Collapse
 
albertzeyer profile image
Albert Zeyer • Edited

To extend on my question:

What about cross posts? E.g. which I posted already elsewhere (maybe partly)?
(Example here. Should I copy & paste the question here to dev.to? And this is a good fit for dev.to?)

Also meta: Should I better ask in a separate post, or is it better to do this follow-up question here as a reply?

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Cross posting is fine - encouraged even if you can find the announcement post for the Stack Overflow liquid tags (It's escaping my searches right now).

As for the separate post vs follow-up, I think it depends šŸ˜…

Collapse
 
benjioe profile image
Benjioe

Or #healthydebate tag.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Well, Stack Overflow is just the tip of the proverbial iceberg when it comes to stuff like this. Stack Exchange (the overreaching site that Stack Overflow is part of) includes a bunch of dedicated sub-sites for all kinds of areas of interest, with varying degrees of tolerance for opinion-based stuff or recommendations. Their software recommendations sub-site is of particular relevance here, but there are a bunch of others dedicated to other stuff, like Arduino or Game development, system administration (Super User and Server Fault), and even more abstract stuff like cryptography or computer science.

For purely opinion-based stuff though, Iā€™d definitely tend more towards asking here on DEV over trying to find a place on Stack Exchange.

Collapse
 
albertzeyer profile image
Albert Zeyer

Yea, I'm partly using the other SE sites as well. But most of them have this rule to only allow questions which can have definite answers, so nothing opinion-based.

Yes, there are some rare exceptions. But then I'm also afraid that I reach maybe too less people if this is a very small SE site, and maybe my question even does not perfectly fit there.

With SE I'm also always having the problem that I'm not really quite sure which SE site to put my question on actually. E.g. right now I wanted to ask on some opinions on good or recommended practice for Git (maybe GitHub) workflow. On some specific aspect of it. Good practice is often very opinion based. I don't think there is really any SE site which allows to ask for good practice.