DEV Community

Alexander6
Alexander6

Posted on

2nd day of my development

Today:

  1. just duplicated a previous project using Nest&Prisma, did some modifications, and set up a local database through Docker , successfully launched the first API to create a record.

Problems:

  • before, I had used Sqlite because it is easy to learn and use, but in this project, I think it's better to use PostgreSQL, as I am using Prisma, so for many situations, I can just use functions provided by Prisma, instead of learning new acknowledgment of PostgreSQL now.
  • there was also another thought that came up to me. if you are going to write a simple API such as creating a record, you have to code in controller, service, and dto. I heard that Ruby on Rails is more efficient, but I don't know if it has code recommendations and official plugins for PostgreSQL
  • for now, I think it's better to use Nest.js, I can improve my skills in the backend and database through this project soon.

Tasks for tomorrow:

  • setup Axios and React-Query in my frontend project
  • post and fetch data from the backend

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
mohammadtaseenkhan profile image
MD Taseen Khan

Summary:

On the second day of development, the individual duplicated a previous project using Nest.js and Prisma, making modifications and setting up a local PostgreSQL database through Docker. They successfully launched the first API to create a record. The switch to PostgreSQL was motivated by the integration with Prisma and its provided functions. However, the individual faced challenges understanding how to structure the code for a simple API, considering controllers, services, and data transfer objects (DTOs). They pondered the efficiency of Ruby on Rails and its compatibility with PostgreSQL, but decided to continue with Nest.js for enhancing backend and database skills. Tomorrow's tasks include setting up Axios and React-Query in the frontend project and implementing data posting and fetching from the backend.

Collapse
 
alexander6 profile image
Alexander6

very interesting for your summary, can you tell me the motivation of doing this work? I think it is a good way to improve English

Collapse
 
mohammadtaseenkhan profile image
MD Taseen Khan

Users might not be interested to read the whole development status, so I wrote the summary for it.