DEV Community

Cover image for O portfolio, portfolio, wherefor art thou portfolio?
Alexander Tarler
Alexander Tarler

Posted on

O portfolio, portfolio, wherefor art thou portfolio?

In the world of the eager job-hunting developer a portfolio is a must-have. It needs to be great to look at and should showcase your skills, putting a lot of weight on your eye for design. My designing-eye is still in development, and after getting some feedback on my old portfolio website I have decided to create a new one. This is the first of (hopefully) a few posts about my process.

Before I start with the actual work - let me show you my old portfolio website. I don't think it's bad per se - but it doesn't pop, it doesn't really grab you. It's okay. It's fine, and when you're looking for a job you want to be more than fine - you want to shine.

This is the landing page. Not much to look at.

This is the portfolio page. Again, not much to look at.

I'm not going to drag this post out with more images, but it's safe to say that there are definitely more exciting and better-looking websites out there, and I aim to have a website that could mingle with them.

I intend to document this process, both for my own sake as it allows me to look back and reflect but also for the sake of other junior developers who might feel as lost as I did (and still are, at times - I know enough to know that I don't know anything) and would like some encouragement in their own process.

In the next post I'm going to try to figure out three things:

  1. My target audience.
  2. What makes other developer websites great
  3. Which tech-stacks to go with

Wish me luck!

Top comments (0)