DEV Community

Cover image for Resume, resuyou
Alexander Tarler
Alexander Tarler

Posted on

Resume, resuyou

Writing your first post anywhere can feel harder to do than it should be. Right now, for instance, I feel as if I -really- need to get the right words in the right order, lest my future of dev.to-blogposting will start off with a flop. I want my post to be confident yet humble, funny yet serious. Readable without being clever about it.

I get the same feeling when I apply to jobs. I want the recruiter, client, or whoever is reading my application to find it interesting, just like everybody else. I want to stand out, but not too much. I want to be remembered.

I have just graduated from a coding bootcamp called in Stockholm, Sweden. 3 tough, intense months of tapping away at a keyboard to go from barely knowing what HTML is to making a fullstack application - and deploying it! We coded using mob programming, and at the end we got to decide on what our final project would be. We landed, after a moment of voting, on a cv-creator.

The project needed to be fullstack, meaning that frontend, backend and a database was needed. We wrote it using TypeScript, NextJS 13, MongoDb among other things. We had roughly 1.5 weeks to do it, going from nothing to a finished product that we could present not only to our fellow mobs but to the clients of that came to visit.

Our result was this -> https://cv-creator-three.vercel.app/

I can, without a shred of doubt, say that I am so, so proud of my mob. We have worked hard these 3 months, and the effort, strength, smarts and skills I've seen from my team has been inspiring and impressive. "Plan-B", as our mob is called, will always have a place in my heart (and LinkedIn/GitHub, of course).

In our project a user can log in using either GitHub or Google. They can then create a CV, saving that info, then choose a template/theme and download it as a pdf. We added a "helper" (read: chatGPT) that we named "Ceve" that can help the user write a good introduction. We even added a job-search-API that will allow the user to look for jobs.

1.5 weeks. 11 days. 264 hours of going from scratch to an application that I want to, and am going to, use myself. My passion for coding has only grown since I entered the bootcamp, and now at the end I feel it growing for every day.

Our application was made to make the process of searching for a job just a bit easier. A smidge, a crumb more fun. A modicum of relief in the jungle that is job searching. Hopefully it can help people stand out, allow users to send out our (beautiful!) CV's and help them find a job.

With a little luck my first post is as good as our project is, but truthfully, I am so proud of my mob (my friends!) and what we have achieved that even if my first post is read by no one I will still feel bliss thinking of the whole process. However, if you've read this far I thank you, and hope to see you out there. If you ever need a CV, you know where to go. Take care, double-check your commit-messages and have a lovely spring.

Top comments (0)